Excerpts from The Goldfinch

So, I’ve read this amazing book and I obviously need to share it with all you lovely people. I am talking about The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. This book has been a journey for me and an amazing one at that.

It comes with a power packed story that is beautifully narrated. I am writing this post to put together some of the best quotes of this book- the ones that have created a soulful impact on me at least. I hope that in some way you also find meaning in it, albeit in a different context but I hope it strikes a chord.

Here goes:

Because-isn’t it drilled in us from constantly, from childhood on, an unquestioned platitude in the culture-? From William Blake to Lady Gaga, from Rosseau to Rumi to Tosca to Mister Rogers, it’s a curiously uniform message, accepted from high to low: when in doubt, what to do? How do we know what’s right for us? Every shrink, every career counsellor, every Disney princess knows the answer: “Be yourself.” “Follow your heart.”

Only here’s what I really, really want someone to explain to me. What if one happens to be possessed of a heart that can’t be trusted-? What if the heart, for its own unfathomable reasons, leads one wilfully and in a cloud of unspeakable radiance away from health, domesticity, civic responsibility and strong social connections and all the blandly-held common virtues and instead straight towards a beautiful flare of ruin, self-immolation, disaster? 

– And as much as I’d like to believe there’s a truth beyond illusion, I’ve come to believe that there’s no truth beyond illusion. Because, between ‘reality’ on the one hand, and the point where the mind trikes reality, there’s a middle zone, a rainbow edge where beauty comes into being, where two very different surfaces might mingle and blur to provide what life does not: and this is the space where all art exists, and all magic.

– Whatever teaches us to talk to ourselves is important: whatever teaches us to sing ourselves out of despair. But the painting has also taught me that we can speak to each other across time. And I feel I have something very serious and urgent to say to you, my non-existent reader, and I feel I should say it as urgently as if I were standing in the room with you. That life- whatever else it is- is short. That fate is cruel but maybe not random. That Nature (meaning Death) always wins but that doesn’t mean that we have to bow and grovel to it. That maybe even if we’re not always so glad to be here, it’s our task to immerse ourselves anyway: wade straight through it, right through the cesspool, while keeping eyes and hearts open. And in the midst of our dying, as we rise from the organic and sink back ignominiously into the organic, it is a glory and a privilege to love what Death doesn’t touch. For if disaster and oblivion have followed this painting down through time- so too has love. Insofar as it is immortal (and it is) I have a small bright immutable part in that immortality. It exists; and it keeps on existing. And I add my own love to the history of people who have loved beautiful things, and looked out for them, and pulled them from the fire, and sought them when they were lost, and tried to preserve them and save them while passing them along literally from hand to hand, singing out brilliantly from the wreck of time to the next generation of lovers, and the next.

This is an amazing book people, beyond words. Go pick up a copy from your nearest store. I will be doing another post on this but I had to put this across. Maybe to archive it so I can go back and look at it in the future or to share it with you, well both but I don’t know which I feel for more strongly.

Read it and do tell me how spellbound you were because next on my list is to pick up the other novels by Donna Tartt.

38 Comments

    • Yeah sure. you could follow the blog for getting updated regularly. You could also follow me on instagram at authorsandreaders 🙂

  1. I’m so pleased to read this. This really is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

  2. Hello there, I discovered your website by the use of Google even as looking for a related subject, your internet website came up, it seems excellent. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  3. This will probably be the best weblog for anyone who desires to be familiar with this topic. You recognize an excellent deal of its practically not effortless to argue on hand (not too I genuinely would want…HaHa). You truly put a new spin more than a topic thats been written about for a long time. Amazing stuff, just exceptional!

  4. Articles with informative content material like yours are a breath of fresh air. I thoroughly enjoyed every thought you created within your material. I’m with you on your original views and unique content material. Thank you.

  5. Substantially, this publish is actually the sweetest on this notable theme. I harmonise along along with your conclusions and will thirstily seem ahead in your incoming updates. Stating thanks will not likely just be ample, for that phenomenal clarity together with your writing. I will appropriate grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Admirable operate and considerably accomplishment together with your enterprise dealings! Please excuse my poor English as it’s not my quite first tongue.

  6. Discovering this website produced all the function I did to uncover it look like absolutely nothing. The reason being that this is such an informative post. I wanted to thank you for this special read of the topic. I definitely savored every small bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post.

  7. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing just a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I located it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  8. Remarkably! It really is as in case you read my mind! A person appear to know therefore considerably relating to this, just like you authored the book inside it or something. I feel which you can do with several images to drive the content material residence a bit, on top of that, this genuinely is excellent weblog. The outstanding study. I will surely review again.

  9. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I’m hoping exactly the same high-grade web site post from you within the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now. Truly the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up can be a great example of it.

    • Yeah sure. you could follow the blog for getting updated regularly. You could also follow me on instagram at authorsandreaders 🙂

  10. Hmm is anyone else having troubles with the images on this weblog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a difficulty on my finish or if it is the weblog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  11. Woah! I’m actually loving the template/theme of this weblog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve got done a wonderful job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Opera. Outstanding Weblog!

  12. I always visit your weblog and retrieve everything you post here but I never commented but today when I saw this post, I couldn’t stop myself from commenting here. Great post mate!

Leave a comment